MINUTES for Special Meeting

January 22, 2020	

1. CALL TO ORDER

(DETERMINATION OF QUORUM)

Trustee Alice Dietz called the special meeting of the District 13 Board of Trustees to order at 12:00 p.m., on Wednesday, January 22, 2020 in ADM Room #204 at Lower Columbia College. When the meeting was called to order, the following individuals were present; there was a quorum.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES: Bob Gregory

Alice Dietz

George Raiter (via phone)

COLLEGE PRESIDENT: Chris Bailey

2. INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

Nolan Wheeler, Marisa Heffernan of the Daily News, and Linda Clark, recorder.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: By Bob Gregory, seconded by George Raiter,

That the agenda be approved as presented

MOTION CARRIED unanimously

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

5. BOARD BUSINESS:

5A. Change to the 2019-20 Student Fee Schedule effective Spring Quarter 2020.

<u>Background</u>: Changes to the MASP and WELD student fees are necessary to meet new requirements within the ctcLink software system slated to go-live in March 2020. In the ctcLink system, "per credit" fees create tuition calculation errors; therefore, a "flat fee" rate is necessary and will be applied to these classes. A review of fees and enrollments for these two disciplines identified the flat fee rates (shown below) as being the most equitable for students enrolled in these classes. A recommendation to change the MASP and WELD student fees accordingly was approved by Cabinet on 1-13-20.

Discipline	Current Fees	Recommended Change
MASP	\$3/credit	\$25 flat rate/class
WELD	\$12.50/credit, \$125 max/class	\$85 flat rate/class

MOTION: Motion by Bob Gregory, seconded by George Raiter,

That the recommendation to change student fees for MASP and WELD, effective Spring Quarter 2020, be approved as

presented.

MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

6. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Alice Dietz adjourned the meeting @ 12:04 p.m.

On February 19, 2020, the Board of Trustees of Community College District 13 approved minutes of the January 22, 2020 Special Meeting.

Christopher C. Bailey, Secretary to the Board