Tuition & Fees

Mask up before coming to campus

Select "learn more" to find out what's open on campus, and don't forget to wear your mask. - Learn More.

Tuition & Fees

Tuition at Lower Columbia College is set by the Washington State Legislature.

Current tuition and fee rates are available at or on campus in the LCC Admissions building.

See below for contact and other important information.

Phone number - Cashiering: (360) 442-2210
Phone number - Registration: (360) 442-2370
Webpage - current rates:
Webpage - Veterans:
Cashiering located in Admissions (ADC)
Registration located in Admissions (ADC)
Veterans Services located in Student Center (STC)

Residency Classifications

The Washington State Legislature sets requirements and procedures for determining a student’s residency classification.

The Registration Office will make an initial determination of residency status from the information provided on the student’s Application for Admission and notify those who have been classified as a nonresident at the time of registration.

To request a review of nonresident status or apply for reclassification, the student must submit a complete Residency Questionnaire with the required documentation to the Director of Registration no more than 30 calendar days after classes begin. It is up to the student to prove residency, and inadequate or erroneous documentation may result in denial of reclassification for that particular quarter.

Washington Residents

Residents of Washington state must verify that they have lived in Washington for one year and have established residency in Washington, including U.S. citizenship. If residency cannot be determined at the time of registration, the student will be required to pay non-resident tuition and fees. Complete residency rules are detailed in RCW 28B.15.012.

Students who are not permanent residents or U.S. citizens may be eligible for reduced tuition, if they resided in Washington for three years immediately prior to receiving a high school diploma, and completed the full senior year at a Washington high school or completed the equivalent of a high school diploma. To determine eligibility, contact the Director of Registration at (360) 442-2372.

Oregon Border Residents

Residents of Oregon border counties (Columbia, Clackamas, Clatsop, Multnomah, Washington) for 90 days or more may qualify for a reduced rate.

Nonresidents (US Citizens not WA Residents)

Individuals who do not otherwise qualify as “residents” under the provisions of RCW 28B.15.012 and RCW 28B.15.013 pay the nonresident rate. See also: "International Students."

  • Nonresident Operating: in ctcLink, this is tuition charged to students and is the same amount charged to residents (for resident students this appears as Resident Operating).
  • Nonresident Operating Diff: in ctcLink, this is the difference in tuition costs between resident and nonresident charges.

Nonresidents (Operating Fees Only Waiver)

Individuals who have lived in the State of Washington for 90 days or more and who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, as defined by the USCIS, may pay this rate.

International Students

Those who are not eligible to pay the “Washington Residents,” “Oregon Border Residents,” or “Nonresidents” rate pay the "International Students" rate.


Veterans of the Desert Storm, Iraqi Freedom and Afghanistan conflicts may be eligible for reduced tuition and fees. For details see or visit the Veterans Office in the Student Center.

Special Audit Rate for Senior Citizens

If space is available after the first class meeting, Washington residents 60 or older may audit up to two classes for a nominal charge per class plus applicable fees. Audit rate applies to credit classes only. For the current rate, see the tuition page at

Tuition Waivers

Students may qualify for reduced tuition if they are a:

  • Classified state employee or Washington Public Higher Education Employee
  • Student seeking a high school diploma
  • Student enrolled in more than 18 credits of vocational classes
  • Washington National Guard member

For details, contact the Registration Office, (360) 442-2370.


Miscellaneous Fees

In addition to tuition, LCC students may be assessed fees based on program and class selections.

Current tuition and fee rates are available at or on campus in the LCC Admissions Center.

Adult Basic Education (ABE)

Students enrolling in Adult Basic Education (ABE) classes pay a quarterly fee (students who are unable to pay should ask about available scholarships).


Students enrolled in apprenticeship programs pay per credit and clock hour fees. They also pay the Technology, Facilities, Tutoring Center and Fitness Center Upgrade fees.

Computer Lab

A computer lab fee is charged for designated classes.

Distance Education

A fee is charged for classes that use LCC’s learning management system, Canvas, or other online systems, for up to 10 credits. A different rate is charged for fully online vs. hybrid classes.

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Students enrolling in English as a Second Language (ESL) classes pay a quarterly fee (students who are unable to pay should ask about available scholarships)..


Quarterly tuition includes a per credit fee (up to 18 credits) for facilities maintenance and college security.

Fitness Center Upgrade

Quarterly tuition includes a per credit fee (up to 10 credits) to fund an upgrade of the campus fitness center.

Fitness Center Use

The Fitness Center User fee is a flat rate, per student, per quarter.

GED Courses

Students enrolling in GED preparation classes pay a quarterly fee.

GED Testing

Testers pay a flat rate for the first time taking all four tests. There is also a retesting fee, also charged at a flat rate.

High School Completion

Students taking courses to earn a high school diploma are charged a per-credit fee based upon residency status (with nonresidents paying a higher fee). They also pay the Technology, Facilities, Tutoring Center, Matriculation, Fitness Center Use and Fitness Center Upgrade fees.

ID Card Replacement

All new LCC students are provided with an identification (ID) card. ID cards are required for campus services such as the library, computer labs and testing centers. Student ID cards are available in the One-Stop Center in the Admissions Building. The ID card is NOT issued quarterly; it is valid for the duration of the student’s time at LCC. There is a flat fee for replacement of the ID card.


Nonrefundable lab fees are collected for certain classes. Where applicable, this fee is shown with class listings in the class schedule.

LCC Employees

Eligible LCC employees pay a flat fee per class, plus any applicable fees.


Quarterly tuition includes a per-credit matriculation fee, for up to 10 credits.

Parking Permit Replacement

All LCC students are provided with a parking permit each year at no charge once tuition arrangements have been made. Permits are valid for the entire academic year (fall through summer). Permits can be picked up at Cashiering in Admissions. There is a flat fee for a replacement parking permit.

Resident Excess Credit

Residents pay a per-credit fee for credits exceeding 18 in any one quarter.

Running Start

Running Start students will be charged tuition for college credits exceeding 15 in any one quarter (charged at the 1-10 credit tuition rates for 16 credits and above). This does not apply to those enrolled in vocational programs or at Skills Centers. Running Start students are responsible for paying applicable college fees.


Quarterly tuition includes a per credit technology fee (up to 12 credits). A photo ID card, which serves as your activities card, library card and computer lab card, is issued as part of this fee. The ID card is not issued quarterly; it is valid as long as you are at LCC. See "ID Card Replacement" for lost, stolen, or damaged cards.


A flat fee is charged for each official transcript. Transcripts can be ordered at Unofficial transcripts can be printed from ctcLink.

Tutoring Center

Quarterly tuition includes a per-credit fee (up to 10 credits) to fund tutoring services available to all LCC students in most courses.

Vocational Excess Credit

Vocational students taking over 18 credits who meet certain requirements pay a per credit fee. Residents pay a lower rate than nonresidents.


Copyright 2018 Lower Columbia College | All Rights Reserved.