LCC is operating - we're just doing things differently.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, most programs and services are still operating remotely. Select "learn more" to access a list of face-to-face and hybrid classes for fall quarter. Applications for emergency funding assistance are still being accepted for fall quarter, which starts September 21. - Learn More.


The Constitution of the United States

On September 17, 1787, 38 delegates signed the Constitution in Philadelphia, PA. The Constitution makes up one of three documents collectively known as the Charters of Freedom. The other documents are the Declaration of Independence and the Bill of Rights.

  • The Declaration of Independence expresses the ideals on which the United States was founded and the reasons for separation from Great Britain.
  • The Constitution defines the framework of the Federal Government of the United States.
  • The Bill of Rights is the first 10 amendments to the Constitution. It defines citizens' and states' rights in relation to the Government.

More information available at the National Archives | America's Founding Documents | Celebrating Constitution Day

In 2004, Congress established September 17 as Constitution Day and Citizenship Day and included provisions in the bill requiring public schools and governmental offices to provide information to promote a better understanding of the Constitution.

Copyright 2018 Lower Columbia College | All Rights Reserved.