Commencement ceremonies are about celebration and tradition. One of LCC's many Commencement traditions is to feature an inspirational speaker.

 Alice Dietz

2024 - Alice Dietz, LCC Trustee

Alice Dietz is a first generation college student and distinguished LCC Alumna. She joined the LCC Board in 2018, serving as one of five governor-appointed trustees for the college. Professionally, Alice is the Public Relations Manager at Cowlitz PUD, and the Communications Chair of the Washington State Public Utility District Association. Prior to working at the PUD, Alice was the Director of Programs at the Cowlitz Economic Development Council. While attending LCC as a student athlete, Alice discovered a passion for learning and went on to The Evergreen State College. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Public Administration with an emphasis in Community Development from Evergreen. She is involved with numerous volunteer organizations in the community, including the Kelso Rotary, KLTV, and the United Way of Cowlitz and Wahkiakum Counties. Alice's events and projects include organizing Eat for Heat (a nationally recognized warm neighbor fundraiser), founding the Mt. Solo Community Garden, hosting the PUD's live monthly radio program, and organizing the Downtown Longview Holiday Parade.


 Tonya Drake

2019 - Tonya Drake, Chancellor, WGU Washington 

Dr. Tonya Drake has held numerous leadership positions in higher education, including at Edmonds and Shoreline Community Colleges, Arizona State University, and the University of Washington. She has traveled the world speaking on diversity and equity issues, including providing the keynote address at a Global Leadership Summit in South Africa. She is a graduate of RA Long High School and Lower Columbia College, and holds a Ph.D. from Arizona State University. She has been the Chancellor for WGU Washington since 2018.



Max Anderson

2018 - Max Anderson, Owner, Anderson & Anderson Advisory, LLC

Max Anderson is an LCC alumnus, former women’s soccer coach, and investment advisor to the LCC Foundation. He served a combined 17 years on the LCC Foundation Board and Board of Trustees. In 2017, LCC named the 'Anderson Family Pavilion' in honor of Max's parents, David M. and Mary P. Anderson, in recognition of the family's substantial support of the college over the years.

Bill Stoller

2017 - Bill Stoller, Founder and CEO of Xenium

Stoller is also the founder and vice chairman of Express Employment Professionals. As president and founder of The Stoller Group, he owns 24 Express offices in Oregon, Washington, Arizona, Nevada, Colorado and California. Stoller attended LCC in 1970 and 1971 and was inducted into the LCC Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017. Stoller also owns and oversees Stoller Vineyards in Dayton, Oregon.

Mary Cullinan

2016 - Dr. Mary Cullinan, President, Eastern Washington University (EWU)

Dr. Cullinan is the the 26th President of EWU, where she has served since 2014. She previously served as President of Southern Oregon University, and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Stephen F. Austin State University in Texas.

Previous years

2015 - Dr. Mel Netzhammer, Chancellor, Washington State University Vancouver

2014 - Representative Dean Takko, 19th District, Washington

2013 - Paul Laufman, Co-Founder, United Paradyne Corporation

2012 - Charlie Earl, Executive Director, State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

2011 - Dr. Jim McLaughlin, President Emeritus, Lower Columbia College

2010 - Lisa Nisenfeld, Executive Director, Southwest Washington Workforce Development Council

2009 - Tad Wheeler, Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship Recipient

Contact Commencement Staff

Cap, Gown & Announcement Inquiries

  Richard Arquette, Student Programs & Activities

  (360) 442-2443

Registration Inquiries


  (360) 442-2370

High School+ Diploma/GED Inquiries

 College and Career Preparation

  (360) 442-2580


 Mary Kate Morgan, Director of Disability and Access Services & Special Populations

  (360) 442-2341